Sun Jan 21
2:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at William Peace
Wed Jan 24
7:00 PM
Ferrum
Mary Baldwin
Sat Jan 27
2:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Salem
Sun Jan 28
2:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Greensboro
Wed Jan 31
7:30 PM
Averett
Mary Baldwin
Sat Feb 03
2:00 PM
N.C. Wesleyan
Mary Baldwin
Sun Feb 04
2:00 PM
Methodist
Mary Baldwin
Thu Feb 08
7:30 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Ferrum
Sat Feb 10
2:00 PM
Pfeiffer
Mary Baldwin
Sun Feb 11
9:00 AM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ August Health
Sat Feb 17
7:30 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Shenandoah
Indoors at WCC
Sun Feb 18
1:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Va. Wesleyan
@ at Lexington, Va.
Sat Feb 24
1:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Guilford
Sat Feb 24
3:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Guilford
Fri Mar 02
3:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Fri Mar 02
5:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Sat Mar 03
1:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Ferrum
Sat Mar 03
3:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
at Ferrum
Mon Mar 05
9:30 AM
Eureka
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Mon Mar 05
1:30 PM
Mt. Aloysius
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Tue Mar 06
1:30 PM
Ohio Christian
Mary Baldwin
Tue Mar 06
3:30 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Wentworth
@ North Myrtle Beach, S.C., Field 1
Wed Mar 07
9:30 AM
Penn College
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Wed Mar 07
1:30 PM
Cedar Crest
vs. Mary Baldwin
@ N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Sat Mar 10
1:00 PM
Greensboro
Mary Baldwin
Previous Next View Full Schedule

MBU Athletics Participates in Polar Plunge

MBU Athletics Participates in Polar Plunge

Mary Baldwin Athletics is headed to the beach on February 4th. Why? To jump into the ocean, of course!

Special Olympics Virginia hosts an annual Polar Plunge fundraiser to help provide funds for its year-long sports programs. These programs provide training, competition, leadership opportunities and health services to over 27,000 athletes of all abilities. The Polar Plunge is in its 25th year and going strong. As of now, they have raised almost $400,000 but have a goal of $1.5 million.

MBU has been collecting donations for team participants to represent the Fighting Squirrels at the Polar Plunge. So far, over $700 has been raised. The overall goal by plunge-time is $2000.

Mary Baldwin competes at the NCAA Division III level which partners with Special Olympics, so many colleges and universities participate in or host community service events in support of the Special Olympics. This particular event sounded like a fun adventure.

Coach Heather Ely is the ‘team captain’ for MBU. “Why are we doing this? Because we can. It will be fun, and a very cold bonding experience for us!”

If you are interested in supporting Special Olympics and MBU Athletics, go to www.polarplunge.com and search for the Mary Baldwin Fighting Squirrels team.

All proceeds go to Special Olympics Virginia.